The Masonic Trowel

... to spread the cement of brotherly love and affection, that cement which unites us into one sacred band or society of brothers, among whom no contention should ever exist, but that noble emulation of who can best work or best agree ...

[What is Freemasonry] [Leadership Development] [Education] [Masonic Talks] [Masonic Magazines Online]
Articles] [Masonic Books Online] [E-Books] [Library Of All Articles] [Masonic Blogs] [Links]
What is New] [Feedback]

 Masonic quotes by Brothers

Search Website For

Add To Favorites

Help Me Maintain OUR Website!!!!!!

List of Contributors

PDF This File

Print This Page

Email This Site To ...


Freemasonry is separated into several groups.  First, an initiate starts his pathway by entering into the Blue Lodge, where he goes through the first three degrees.  Once this has been accomplished, he can choose to advance through either or both legs of advancement, the Scottish Rite or the York Rite.  Once he has traversed either of these, he can petition for membership in the Shrine, although in the United States that is no longer a requirement. 

The chart below explains the degrees and their placement in the order from the bottom up to the top.  In addition, there are several auxiliary Masonic organizations for members, women, and youth, shown below at the bottom.

Entered Apprentice 1
Fellowcraft 2
Master Mason 3



Mark Master
Past Master
Most Excellent Master
Royal Arch Mason
Royal Master
Select Master
Super Excellent Master
Order to the Red Cross
Order of the Knights of Malta
Order of the Knights Templar


4 Secret Master
5 Perfect Master
6 Confidential Secretary
7 Provost and Judge
8 Intendent of Building
9 Elu of Nine
10 Elu of Fifteen
11 Elu of Twelve
12 Master Architect
13 Royal Arch of Solomon
14 Perfect Elu
15 Knight of the Sword
16 Prince of Jerusalem
17 Knight of the East & West
18 Knight Rose Croix
19 Pontiff
20 Master, Symbolic Lodge
21 Noachite or Prussian Knight
22 Knight of the Royal Axe
23 Chief of the Tabernacle
24 Prince of the Tabernacle
25 Knight of the Brazen Serpent
26 Prince of Mercy
27 Knight Commander of the Temple
28 Knight of the Sun, Adept
29 Grand Scottish Knight of St. Andrew
30 Knight Kadosh
31 Inspector Inquisitor
32 Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret
33 Grand Sovereign Inspector General


Auxiliary Bodies

For Men For Women For Youth
  • Order of the Eastern Star
  • De Molay
  • Daughers of the Nile
  • Job's Daughters
  • The Shrine
  • White Shrine
  • Rainbow Girls

back to top

[What is Freemasonry] [Leadership Development] [Education] [Masonic Talks] [Masonic Magazines Online]
Articles] [Masonic Books Online] [E-Books] [Library Of All Articles] [Masonic Blogs] [Links]
What is New] [Feedback]

This site is not an official site of any recognized Masonic body in the United States or elsewhere.
It is for informational purposes only and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinion
of Freemasonry, nor webmaster nor those of any other regular Masonic body other than those stated.

DEAD LINKS & Reproduction | Legal Disclaimer | Regarding Copyrights

Last modified: March 22, 2014